Male Figure Studies

Another Saturday night working hard by drinking tea, listening to live guitar and pug snores, painting beautifully powerful nude men.

Who ever said an artist’s life wasn’t indulgent?!


I’m working from photo references for these oil sketches. Each is 8×6″ painted on mineral paper. To purchase, please contact me!

Male Physique #3
Male Physique #3 8×6″ oil painting on mineral paper.

Last week I also had the opportunity to work with a live model. It’s so helpful to paint models with toned muscles because I can see the anatomy better.

The forms help me map distances and create beautiful shapes to follow through the figure.


I’m pushing myself to leave faces a little more abstract when my focus is on the figure. I think this painting is particularly successful in that intention. Nick is 10×10″ oil on birch wood panel, painted alla prima in a 3 hour session.

Leave a Reply

