Working with Earth Colors

This past week I began experimenting with a different palette of colors. I’m still on a mission to explore color mixing options for Metopes & Friezes and my instinct to play with earth colors yielded nice results. The limited chroma range of the earth colors has an innate harmony that reminds me of the classical paintings from the Renaissance Masters.

Au Naturel
Au Naturel. 10×10″ oil painting on birch wood panel. ©2017 Brooke Walker-Knoblich

I first painted with the limited palette of raw sienna, brown madder, terra vert, and titanium white. Then I substituted venetian red for the brown madder and added burnt umber to the mix to capture the rich black skin stones of this african model. 

Screen shot 2017-02-20 at 12.43.42 AM.png
Modeled from Earth. 10×10″ oil painting on birch wood panel. ©2017 Brooke Walker-Knoblich

The earth colors were perfect for creating naturalistic fleshtones. But to capture the shimmer of the marble I ‘ll still need a color that yields an icy blue or cool gray. Perhaps a payne’s gray or indigo will make its way into my palette for this week’s experiments.

Leave a Reply

